

# **Special Council Meeting**

# MINUTES

Monday, 18 November 2024 6:00 PM Senior Citizen Centre, Kerang

# **Order Of Business**

1	Acknowledgement of Country Opening Declaration Apologies Declaration of Conflict of Interest Business Reports for Decision		3 3
2			
3			
4			
5			4
	5.1	Councillor Declaration Report	4
	5.2	Outgoing Mayoral Address	4
	5.3	Mayoral Term	5
	5.4	Election of Mayor	
	5.5	Incoming Mayoral Address	6
	5.6	Election of Deputy Mayor	7

#### MINUTES OF GANNAWARRA SHIRE COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE SENIOR CITIZEN CENTRE, KERANG ON MONDAY, 18 NOVEMBER 2024 AT 6:00 PM

#### PRESENT:

Cr Daniel Bolitho Cr Lisa Farrant Cr Charlie Gillingham Cr Keith Link Cr Pat Quinn Cr Garner Smith Cr Ross Stanton

IN ATTENDANCE: Chief Executive Officer Director Corporate Services Executive Assistant to Chief Executive Officer

Gallery: 5

Media: 0

# 1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Acknowledgement of Country video was played.

# 2 OPENING DECLARATION

The Councillors read the Opening Declaration.

# 3 APOLOGIES

Nil

# 4 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

In accordance with Section 129(g) of the Local Government Act 2020 and Regulation 7 of the Local Government (Governance and Integrity) Regulations 2020, a Councillor does not have a conflict of interest if the matter relates to the nomination of a Councillor for the election to the office of Mayor or Deputy Mayor, or the election of a Councillor to the office of Mayor or Deputy Mayor.

#### 5 BUSINESS REPORTS FOR DECISION

#### 5.1 COUNCILLOR DECLARATION REPORT

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

As outlined by the *Local Government Act 2020,* Section 30, all Councillors are required to undertake the reading of the Oath or Affirmation in front of the Chief Executive Officer as a witness to undertake their duties as a Councillor.

#### RESOLUTION

#### Moved: Cr Keith Link Seconded: Cr Garner Smith

That Council note that the following Councillors have taken the Oath or Affirmation of Office as witnessed by Gannawarra Shire Council Chief Executive Officer, Geoff Rollinson, as dated below:

- Cr Keith Link Oath 11 November 2024
- Cr Charlie Gillingham Oath 12 November 2024
- Cr Daniel Bolitho Affirmation 12 November 2024
- Cr Ross Stanton Oath 12 November 2024
- Cr Lisa Farrant Oath 12 November 2024
- Cr Garner Smith Oath 12 November 2024
- Cr Pat Quinn Oath 13 November 2024

CARRIED

#### 5.2 OUTGOING MAYORAL ADDRESS

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

The Chief Executive Officer will invite the 2023/2024 Mayor, Cr Ross Stanton, to provide an overview of his year as the Mayor.

#### RESOLUTION

#### Moved: Cr Charlie Gillingham Seconded: Cr Pat Quinn

That Council receive and note the Outgoing Mayoral Address of Cr Ross Stanton, Mayor 2023/2024.

CARRIED

#### 5.3 MAYORAL TERM

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

In accordance with Section 26 of the *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act) and Rules 6 and 7 of Council's Governance Rules, before the election of the Mayor, Council must determine by resolution whether the Mayor is to be elected for a one year or a two-year term.

#### RESOLUTION

#### Moved: Cr Lisa Farrant Seconded: Cr Daniel Bolitho

That Council confirms that the Mayoral term for 2024/2025 be for a period of one year.

CARRIED

#### 5.4 ELECTION OF MAYOR

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

The *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act) requires Council to elect a Mayor no later than one month after the date of general election.

The process for the election of the Mayor is detailed in the Act and Gannawarra Shire Council's Governance Rules.

The election of mayor is chaired by the Chief Executive Officer, and once elected, the Mayor will take the chair for the remainder of the meeting.

#### RESOLUTION

#### Moved: Cr Charlie Gillingham Seconded: Cr Lisa Farrant

That Council elect a Councillor to be Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for the 2024/2025 year.

#### CARRIED

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for position of Mayor.

Cr Keith Link nominated Cr Garner Smith for the position of Mayor, Cr Garner Smith accepted the nomination.

Cr Charlie Gillingham nominated Cr Ross Stanton for the position of Mayor, Cr Ross Stanton accepted the nomination.

Cr Garner Smith addressed the Council. Cr Ross Stanton addressed the Council.

#### Voting

The Chief Executive Officer called for a show of hands for each candidate for the position of Mayor.

The votes recorded for Cr Garner Smith were 4 votes as follows:

- Cr Garner Smith
- Cr Keith Link
- Cr Lisa Farrant
- Cr Daniel Bolitho

The votes recorded for Cr Ross Stanton were 3 votes as follows:

- Cr Ross Stanton
- Cr Charlie Gillingham
- Cr Pat Quinn

Receiving the absolute majority of votes, the Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Garner Smith, Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2024/2025.

The Chief Executive Officer placed the Mayoral Chains around Cr Garner Smith's neck and congratulated him. He then vacated the chair for the Mayor to proceed with the remainder of the meeting.

#### 5.5 INCOMING MAYORAL ADDRESS

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

The 2024/2025 Mayor will address the meeting on the year ahead.

#### RESOLUTION

#### Moved: Cr Ross Stanton Seconded: Cr Keith Link

That Council receive and note the incoming Mayoral address.

CARRIED

#### 5.6 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

The *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act) states that a Council may establish an office of Deputy Mayor to perform the role of the Mayor, and exercise any of the powers of the Mayor in certain circumstances.

The process for the election of the Deputy Mayor is detailed in the Act and the Gannawarra Shire Council Governance Rules.

#### RESOLUTION

#### Moved: Cr Ross Stanton Seconded: Cr Pat Quinn

That Council elect a Councillor to be Deputy Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for the 2024/2025 year.

#### CARRIED

The Mayor called for nominations for position of Deputy Mayor.

Cr Keith Link nominated himself for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Keith Link accepted the nomination.

Cr Ross Stanton nominated Cr Lisa Farrant for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Lisa Farrant declined the nomination.

Cr Charlie Gillingham nominated Cr Ross Stanton for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Ross Stanton accepted the nomination.

Cr Keith Link addressed the Council. Cr Ross Stanton addressed the Council.

#### Voting

The Mayor called for a show of hands for each candidate for the position of Deputy Mayor.

The votes recorded for Cr Keith Link were 3 votes as follows:

- Cr Keith Link
- Cr Garner Smith
- Cr Lisa Farrant

The votes recorded for Cr Ross Stanton were 4 votes as follows:

- Cr Ross Stanton
- Cr Charlie Gillingham
- Cr Pat Quinn
- Cr Daniel Bolitho

Receiving the absolute majority of votes, the Mayor declared Cr Ross Stanton, Deputy Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2024/2025.

The Mayor congratulated Cr Ross Stanton on becoming Deputy Mayor.

The Meeting closed at 6.26pm.

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Gannawarra Shire Council held on 27 November 2024.

Mayor Garner Smith CHAIRPERSON